The most informative guide to the capital, Canberra secrets unlocks the city's heart and soul.

Canberra Secrets - Your Key to the Capital

Hurtling towards its inevitable and tragic conclusion, Deborah Snow draws us into a vortex of police missteps, extraordinary bravery and profound grief to reveal what happened during that awful day.

Siege - The Powerful and Uncompromising Story of What Happened Inside the Lindt Cafe and Why the Police Response Went So Tragically Wrong

Meet the Kings of the Road. These are the cars that drove Australia - the greatest, bravest, most iconic and inspired vehicles in our history.Every one of them has a story to tell. From the first car manufactured in Australia to the 'beast'... read more

Kings of the Road - 50 Cars That Drove Australia

Welcome to the world of university academics, where the Academic Hunger Games, fuelled by precarious employment conditions, is the new reality - a perpetual jostle for short-term contracts and the occasional plum job. But Inger Mewb... read more

How to be an Academic: The Thesis Whisperer Reveals All

Category:

 Australian Non-Fiction

Series:Mira Ser.

Outback Governesses is collection of eye-opening stories about fourteen governesses who drop in, Mary Poppins-like, to educate children in Australia's remotest rural areas and in return receive a bush education of their own... The governesses are often young women fr... read more

Outback Governesses

Category:

 Australian Non-Fiction

Series:Democracy Trilogy Ser.
Awards:Winner of Stella Prize 2014.

Winner of the Stella Prize, 2014. The Eureka Stockade. It's one of Australia's foundation legends yet the story has always been told as if half the participants weren't there. But what if the hot-tempered, free-spirited gold miners we learned about at scho... read more

Forgotten Rebels of Eureka, The

Childhood stories of family, country and belonging What is it like to grow up Aboriginal in Australia?
This anthology, compiled by award-winning author Anita Heiss, showcases many diverse voices, experiences and stories in order to answer that qu... read more

Growing Up Aboriginal in Australia

Hilarious, unpredictable and, at times, touching, this compilation is the perfect gift for fans of Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops and The Diary of a Bookseller.

I Can't Remember the Title But the Cover is Blue: Sketches from the Other Side of the Bookshop Counter

Category:

 Australian Non-Fiction

Here, for the first time, is the 110 year history of rugby league in oneinformative book. All the great namesare here with wonderful stories,essential statistics and rare photosof players, clubs and key events.Expertly told by Andrew Ferguson,The Story of Rugby... read more

The Story of Rugby League

Late last year, after a decade of what was at times a bitter and divisive debate, Australians made it clear that their understanding of equality included formal recognition of the most intimate relationships. The parliament respo... read more

Griffith Review 62 - All Being Equal - the Novella Project VI

Category:

 Australian Non-Fiction

'Dark Emu injects a profound authenticity into the conversation about how we Australians understand our continent ... [It is] essential reading for anyone who wants to understand what Australia once was, or what it might yet be if we heed the lessons of long and sophist... read more

Dark Emu

From Dally M to JT, the Immortals to the Invincibles, rugby league has captivated us for more than a century. Great players, great stories, great memories - it's all here in '110 Years of Rugby League', a compelling 224-page tri... read more

110 Years of Rugby League - The History, the Heroes, the Heart