Category:

 General

Sometimes I whisper it over to myself: Murderess. Murderess. It rustles, like a taffeta skirt along the floor.' Grace Marks. Female fiend? Femme fatale? Or weak and unwilling victim? Around the true story of one of the most enigmatic and notorious women of the 1840s, Margaret Atwoo... read more

Alias Grace, TV TIE

Category:

 General

Tender and savage, heart-breaking and hopeful, and deeply human, The Twelve Mile Straight combines the intimacy of a family drama with the grandeur of an American epic and will appeal to fans of American classics by Harper Lee, Toni Morrison and William Faulkner. Cotton County... read more

The Twelve-Mile Straight

Category:

 General

Awards:Short-listed for Readings New Australian Fiction Award 2017 (Australia).

'first rate ...great humour too' Stephen Romei, The Australian 'never lets up ...hugely entertaining' Rohan Wilson, author of The Roving Party and To Name Those Lost 'an intriguing concept' Jenny Barry, BooksPlus

The Lost Pages (Vogel Winner 2017)

Category:

 General

Now a major motion picture. Surprised to find himself reborn as a rambunctious golden-haired puppy after a tragically short life as a stray mutt, Bailey's search for his new life's meaning leads him into the loving arms of 8-year-old Ethan. During their countless adventures Bail... read more

A Dog's Purpose (FTI)

Category:

 General

Series:Neapolitan Novels
Awards:Winner of ABIA International Book of the Year 2016. Shortlisted for Best Translated Book Award 2016 and Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2016.

Winner, Reader's Choice Award, International Book of the Year, Australian Book Industry Awards 2016 Shortlisted, Man Booker International Prize, 2016 A New York Times Notable Book, 2015 The Story of the Lost Child is the long-awaited fourth volume... read more

The Story of the Lost Child (The Neapolitan Novels #4)

Category:

 General

The twentieth stunning book from the lauded bestselling author, Joanna Trollope.The day Stacey Grant loses her job feels like the last day of her life. Or at least, the only life she'd ever known. For who was she if not a City high-flyer, Senior Partner at one of the top private equ... read more

City of Friends

Category:

 General

He hated the word 'retirement', but not as much as he hated the word 'village', as if ageing made you a peasant or a fool. Herein lives the village idiot. Professor Frederick Lothian, retired engineer, world expert on concrete and connoisseur of modernist design, has quarantined himself... read more

Extinctions

Category:

 General

From the author of The Palace of Curiosities and Vixen comes a bold new novel exploring questions of identity, sexual equality and how well we really know ourselves. Perfect for fans of Angela Carter, Sarah Waters and Erin Morgenstern. Rich are the delights of late nineteenth-cent... read more

The Night Brother

Category:

 General

Reading Level:General Adult

The breathtaking new novel from the bestselling author of ORPHAN TRAIN. No one can unearth little known moments in history like Christina Baker Kline and illuminate them so perfectly. For decades, Christina Olson's whole world has been a rocky, windswept point on the coast of M... read more

A Piece of the World

Category:

 General

The tale of Harry Clifton's life begins in 1919, in Bristol. His father was a war hero, but it will be 21 tumultuous years before Harry discovers the truth about how his father really died and if, in fact, he even was his father. When he goes to school, he meets Giles... read more

Clifton Chronicles: Volumes 1 & 2

Category:

 General

Awards:Shortlisted for Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2010 and Galaxy National Book Awards: International Author of the Year 2010 and Orange Prize for Fiction 2011.

SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2010 MAN BOOKER PRIZESHORTLISTED FOR THE 2011 ORANGE PRIZE FOR FICTIONJack is five. He lives with his Ma. They live in a single, locked room. They don't have the key. Jack and Ma are prisoners.

Room

Category:

 General

Reading Level:General Adult

"In this masterful performance, Bryn Chancellor explores the loss around which an entire community has calcified with humanity and wisdom. Chancellor digs deep in these pages, unearthing broken hearts, secrets, betrayals, passion and--most impressively--grace. What a joy to find a book tha... read more

Sycamore