Product detail

Shakespeare's Tragedies - Macbeth, Othello, King Lear and Hamlet

Shakespeare's Tragedies - Macbeth, Othello, King Lear and Hamlet

Author: William Shakespeare
$35.00(AUD)  inc GST

This handsome deluxe slip-case edition of Shakespeare's Tragedies features four of the most important plays ever written, each one a masterpiece in human psychology, with a flawed yet fascinating main character at its heart.
Macbeth: a study in overweening pride, driven to commit regicide and ultimately to despotism by an ambitious, scheming wife.
Othello: an outwardly strong man, a leader, brought to self-destruction by a series of lies cunningly orchestrated by a trusted confidant.
King Lear: one of literature's most complex characters, his contradictions are laid bare with forensic detail.
Hamlet: a prince full of faults and yet, as with Lear, we feel his pain and his dilemmas.

Inside the full-color, attractive slipcase, the book features gold lettering embossed on the dark cloth cover for a classic look and feel. Includes the complete text of the plays and respective character lists, and several illustrations taken from the 1833 edition of The Plays and Poems of Shakespeare - drawings based on plates from the Boydell series of artworks that have been beloved classics since first published in the 1750s. A one-of-a-kind collector's edition that will make a stunning gift for any lover of the works of William Shakespeare.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781784282578
  • : Arcturus Publishing
  • : Arcturus Publishing
  • : November 2016
  • : 1 Inches X 7.25 Inches X 9 Inches
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : English
  • : 384
  • : William Shakespeare
  • : Hardback