Product detail

Falling Angels

Falling Angels

Author: Tracy Chevalier
$19.99(AUD)  inc GST
Description
Will friendship overcome the social boundaries of Edwardian London in this bestselling historical tale perfect for fans of Audrey Niffenegger and Sarah Waters. One cold January morning, in the wake of Queen Victoria's death, two young sets of eyes meet across the graves at Highgate Cemetery. One pair belongs to smartly dressed Lavinia Waterhouse, whose mother clings to the traditional values she sees slipping away; the other to Maude Coleman, whose mother longs to escape the stifling grip of Victorian society. Thrust together by the girls' friendship, these two very different families embark on a new century that promises electricity, emancipation and other changes that will shake the very foundations of their lives.
Reviews

Praise for 'Girl with a Pearl Earring': 'A portrait of radiance!Tracy Chevalier brings the real artist Vermeer and a fictional muse to life in a jewel of a novel.' Time 'It has a slow, magical current of its own that picks you up and carries you stealthily along!a beautiful story, lovingly told by a very talented writer.' Daily Mail 'A wonderful novel, mysterious, steeped in atmosphere, deeply revealing about the process of painting!truly magical.' Guardian

Author description

Tracy Chevalier grew up in Washington DC. In 1994 she graduated from the creative writing course at the University of East Anglia. She lives in London with her husband and son.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780007217236
  • : HarperCollins Publishers
  • : The Borough Press
  • : August 2006
  • : 197mm X 130mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : September 2006
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 416
  • : Tracy Chevalier
  • : Paperback
  • : New edition
  • : 823.914