BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE HIDDEN LIFE OF TREES, PETER WOHLLEBEN, INVITES US TO RECONNECT WITH NATURE As soon as we step out of the door, nature surrounds. Thousands of small and large processes are taking place, details ... read more

The Weather Detective Reading Nature's Signs in the World Around Us

Category:

 Science - Popular

As practitioners, Prof Phelps and Dr Lee know the problems caused by poor gut health and how an uneasy gut can make life miserable. Symptoms such as weight gain, diarrhoea and cramping are common, but few people receive a definitive disease label. Most of us are entirely unawar... read more

The Mystery Gut

Category:

 Science - Popular

Series:New Scientist Instant Expert Ser.

 
The ancient Greeks called it Gaia; the Romans Terra. We know it simply as Earth, the planet we call home. And what a planet it is.
 
Formed around 4.6 billion years ago from the debris of the big b... read more

This is Planet Earth: Your ultimate guide to the world we call home

What does the Hippocratic oath actually say? Who originally discovered antibiotics? And is it true that technology now allows reconstructive surgery to use customiz... read more

30-Second Medicine: The 50 Crucial Milestones, Treatments and Technologies in the History of Health, Each Explained in Half a Minute

From the phenomenal New Scientist series, with over 2,500,000 copies sold
Do Polar Bears Get Lonely? is the third compilation of readers' answers to the questions in the 'Last Word' column of New Scientist, the world's ... read more

Do Polar Bears Get Lonely?: And 101 Other Intriguing Science Questions

Before there were Homo sapiens there were the dinosaurs. A thrilling re-evaluation of the creatures that ruled the earth for 150 million years by one of the world's leading paleontologists. Sixty-six million years ago the dino... read more

The Rise and Fall of the Dinosaurs: The Untold Story of a Lost World

Category:

 Science - Popular

Explore the iconic Apollo space missions and moon landings through these stunning infographics and data visualisations. If you like space, this book is for you. The Apollo Program ran from 1961 until 1972, and marks one of the greatest accomplishments in all of human endeavour - man wal... read more

Apollo

Many of the world's most important and life-saving devices and techniques were often discovered purely by accident. Serendipity, timing, and luck played a part in the discovery of unintentional cures and breakthr... read more

Accidental Medical Discoveries: How Tenacity and Pure Dumb Luck Changed the World

A New York Times Critics' Top Book of 2017One of Washington Post's 50 Notable Works of Nonfiction in 2017One of Booklist's Top 10 Science Books of 2017 "An immersive, mildly gonzo and depressingly well-timed... read more

The Water Will Come: Rising Seas, Sinking Cities, and the Remaking of the Civilized World

In the vein of Gut and The Brain That Changes Itself, a gripping exploration into the inner workings of the heart and how emotions and lifestyle affect every beat.
When the actress Debbie Reynolds died a day ... read more

Can You Die of a Broken Heart?: A Heart Surgeon's Insight into What Makes Us Tick

We like to think of ourselves as highly evolved creatures. But if we are evolution's greatest creation, why are we so badly designed? We have retinas that face backward, the stump of a tail, and way too many bones in our wrist... read more

Human Errors: Pointless Bones, Runaway Nerves and Other Human Defects

Our brains need a well-rounded workout just like our bodies! Research has shown the benefits of keeping our mental abilities strong, and those who challenge their brains throughout their life have a lower r... read more

Keep Your Brain Stronger for Longer: 201 Brain Exercises to Maintain Your Mental Fitness