'A beautiful little book by a brilliant mind' Steven Poole, DAILY TELEGRAPH
The world-famous cosmologist and #1 bestselling author of A Brief History of Time leaves us with his final thoughts on the universe's biggest questions in this b... read more

Brief Answers to the Big Questions - Stephen Hawking

Category:

 Science - Popular

AIDS. Ebola. Bird flu. SARS. Year after year we manage new viruses thanks to the tireless work done in labs and hot zones around the world. Now, Jonathan Quick explains how we could end epidemics forever. Somewhere out there, a killer virus is boiling up in the bloodstream of ... read more

End of Epidemics

"What is it like to try to heal the body when the mind is under attack? In this gripping and illuminating book, Dr Allan Ropper reveals the extraordinary stories behind some of the life-altering afflictions that he and h... read more

Reaching Down the Rabbit Hole: Extraordinary Journeys into the Human Brain

Category:

 Science - Popular

**THE NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER**Sapiens showed us where we came from. Homo Deuslooked to the future. 21 Lessons for the 21st Century explores the present. How can we protect ourselves from nuclear war, ecological cataclysms and technological disruptions? What can w... read more

21 Lessons for the 21st Century

Category:

 Science - Popular

Series:New Scientist Instant Expert Ser.

 
The ancient Greeks called it Gaia; the Romans Terra. We know it simply as Earth, the planet we call home. And what a planet it is.
 
Formed around 4.6 billion years ago from the debris of the big b... read more

This is Planet Earth: Your ultimate guide to the world we call home

Bestselling author of The Hidden Life of Trees,Peter Wohlleben, invites you to reconnect with nature As soon as we step out of the door, nature surrounds. Thousands of small and large processes are taking place, details that... read more

The Weather Detective Reading Nature's Signs in the World Around Us

'Gripping and wonderfully informative' Tom Holland, New Statesman Adored by children and adults alike, Tyrannosaurus is the most famous dinosaur in the world, one that pops up again and again in pop culture, often battling other be... read more

The Tyrannosaur Chronicles: The Biology of the Tyrant Dinosaurs

What does the Hippocratic oath actually say? Who originally discovered antibiotics? And is it true that technology now allows reconstructive surgery to use customiz... read more

30-Second Medicine: The 50 Crucial Milestones, Treatments and Technologies in the History of Health, Each Explained in Half a Minute

Category:

 Science - Popular

Series:Icon Science

Riddled with jealousy, rivalry, missed opportunities and moments of genius, the history of the atom’s discovery is as bizarre, as capricious, and as weird as the atom itself.  John Dalton gave us the first picture of the atom in the early 1800s. Almost 100 years later the young misfit Ne... read more

Atom

'Peter Wohlleben doesn't merely look, he sees. Let's all learn as much from him as we can, and quickly.' Rosamund Young, author of THE SECRET LIFE OF COWSDid you know that trees can influence the rotation of the earth?Or th... read more

The Secret Network of Nature: The Delicate Balance of All Living Things

In the vein of Gut and The Brain That Changes Itself, a gripping exploration into the inner workings of the heart and how emotions and lifestyle affect every beat.
When the actress Debbie Reynolds died a day ... read more

Can You Die of a Broken Heart?: A Heart Surgeon's Insight into What Makes Us Tick

Our brains need a well-rounded workout just like our bodies! Research has shown the benefits of keeping our mental abilities strong, and those who challenge their brains throughout their life have a lower r... read more

Keep Your Brain Stronger for Longer: 201 Brain Exercises to Maintain Your Mental Fitness